Student Assessment Tools – Thing 29

child-and-schoolStudent assessment seems to be a hot topic these days.  There are many ways we can do formative and summative assessments so I decided to check out a few of them.  Currently I use a student response system with my Smart Board.  My students love it when we have and Senteo (Smart Technology’s name for their clickers) test.  The part they like best is the quick feedback.  As soon as the students are all finished I click a button and the test is scored telling the students which questions they got right or wrong.  We then go over the test and discuss the answers.  My more cautious students like this because they can raise their hands for to answer questions the clicker tells them they got right.  They participate with confidence.  I love the system because it corrects and scores my assessment, does an item analysis, and records the individual answers for each student.  The system was expensive, though, and a couple of the clickers have a button or 2 that has lost its sensitivity.  I don’t see them replacing the clickers down the road because there are so many other less expensive options out there.

Socrative is a web based assessment tool that has a few different feedback options.  I liked the quiz feature as well as the quick question especially since you have a choice between multiple choice, true/false and short answers.  For the quiz I wish I could import quizes I have already made in Microsoft Word the way I can with my student response clickers, but no such luck.  Therefore, I would have to retype into Socrative all the quizes I have already created. Oh well.  I can definitely see myself using the built in exit ticket.  I think it would be a quick and easy way to gather info.  Tapping into the students love of games can easily be done with the space race game.  I usually set up teams myself for games in class but it is nice to also have the random assignment feature.  The students would certainly get a charge out of playing the game.

Answer Garden is a quick assessment tool.  It was a cross between a tweet and a word cloud.  I could see using it as an exit ticket, for brainstorming, and to take a survey on a topic.  My students love to make word clouds on wordle.net so I know they’d like how the responses are displayed in a word cloud.

I love Kahoot.it and so would my students.  The idea of turning the assessment into a game is something the kids would love.  My students would have to use laptops rather than mobile devices.  I played a short game with a few other teachers the other day and we all got into the competitive spirit of it.  I could see how it would work well with a wide range of ages. Plickers is a similar idea if you do not have access to devices for your students, but it seems rather cumbersome otherwise.

I can’t imagine using Google Forms for an assessment without the add-on Flubaroo.  It seems like it should have been built into Google forms in the beginning!  It seems with Flubaroo it would be similar to using the student response system I mentioned above at least from the teacher’s perspective since it would grade the assessment at the click of a button.

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

